Subra Suresh, member of the Board of Trustees of IMDEA-materials, awarded the A. C. Eringen Medal

Subra suresh


Professor Subra Suresh, Dean of the School of Engineering and Ford Professor of Engineering at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology and member of the Board of Trustees of IMDEA Materials, has been chosen by The Society of Engineering Science to receive the A.C. Eringen Medal for 2008, one of the highest and most distinguished prizes awarded in recognition of "sustained outstanding achievements in engineering science".

In its annual meeting to be held this fall at the University of Illinois at Urbana, Champaign, Prof. Suresh will receive a medal, a cash prize and lifetime membership in the society. In Suresh’s honor, the society also plans to organize a special symposium devoted to the science and applications of advanced material, cell and molecular biomechanics, and nanotechnology to which Suresh has made pioneering contributions. The list of recipients of the Eringen Medal in recent years includes the late Nobel laureate Pierre de Gennes.